diy solar

diy solar

Complete beginner here | Would like some feedback regarding a schematic before I purchase the components

ThatCoolNerd

I posted a schematic a couple of weeks ago and received some feedback. I've since made some adjustments and would like some feedback on this new one.

Basically I just want a little mobile power station that can power some stuff around the house and yard. Nothing crazy, maybe some fans and a computer in the summer. A small heater in the winter. An amplifier, periodically.

I understand I don't need OCP from the array to the solar charge controller if I don't have my panels in series, but I was still going to install a circuit breaker between them functionally as an "on-off" switch for my array. Does that work?

Are shunts necessary?

I'm going to purchase pre-made cables. I'd like to have mc4 quick-disconnects for my pv array, but we'll see.

I welcome any comments or concerns! Does this look safe?

I'm a little worried about the terminals breaking on the Victron charge controller. I've heard they're very flimsy and are easy to break for beginners like me. I kind of want to spend the extra $100 to get a 60A HQST charge controller just for the terminals, but I'm unsure.

P.S. I forgot to put it on the diagram but I was going to add a 40A T-class fuse on the positive wire from battery to inverter. Is that okay?
20240516_050416.jpg

It looks fine.

A couple of points:

Per the NEC, you need to multiply your required conductor ampacities by 1.25 but your selected wire sizes are fine. It looks like you rounded to the next larger wire size!

Place your OCP devices as close to the battey as possible.

Be sure and use DC rated breakers.

The 40A MCB feeding the inverter may be too small to handle surges. Breakers are normally sized larger but it depends on the trip curves.

The class T fuse would be a nice addition but again, it might need to be larger given surge loads.

Hope this helps!