diy solar

diy solar

Build a system in phases?

80sDweeb

I'm a beginner here. Been watching Will's videos for a year or more, but I don't have a little RV or tiny house, I've got a 3500 sq ft home, and I don't know how to get from zero to 100% solar. If I understand my electric bill right, my highest usage day is 66 kWh in July (obviously the AC.) I'm in northeast Arizona. Plenty of sun, gets up to about 100 on the hottest day, down around zero on the coldest night. I have a huge reefer trailer I'll be dropping onto the ground in my backyard which will house my solar, panels mounted on the top, batteries & inverter-controllers inside. What are options for building a solar system in phases? If I could build a system for everything except the AC, I could almost do it. But what good does a partial system do me? Can that even be done? If so, how?

Any good videos with ideas for this? Appreciate any suggestions and advice!

At the risk of sounding like Captain Obvious, the first thing to do is to see where you can reduce your energy usage without impacting your lifestyle. 66KWh is a lot of energy so if you can do things like install more insulation, get more efficient Air Conditioners, water heaters, etc it will make going 100% solar a bit easier and cheaper.

If you want to build in stages, it is important to have a 'final' design from the beginning so you are not buying stuff now that you will have to replace later.

Lets try and get a rough idea of the size of the system.

Solar Panels:
Right now the sweet spot in solar panels is the newer 450ish watt panels. Since you are in Arizona, I will assume you have a favorable insolation number of 5. With those assumptions, you will need (66000Wh/5 hours)/450W/panel = 30 panels to produce the daily 66KWh That is a fair number of panels but not an unreasonable number.