diy solar

diy solar

Can I draw 12 V form a 14,8 V power wall ?

Lassescout

Hello guys

I am new to Electronics, but I have been following Wills videos for a while, and also other sources of information. I bougt a small hunting cabin 6 months ago. It has a small 12 V solar panel and 3 lead acid car batteries w. 12 V in parallel. As you can imagine that is not optimal, but I am not allowed to set up more panels, so I have to optimise on that setup.

I am harvesting used 18650 cells from laptop computers and eBike batteries. I now have 200 cells and am aiming for 320. I plan to make a small powerwall with 4S-80P for my hunting cabin. I am going to buy a good charge controller and set it to charge the power wall up to 16,0 Volts. That is 4,0 Volts for each group. Then i plan to discharge down to 3,0 volts for each group which will give med 12 volts out at that point. I assume that the powerwall will give 14,8 volts most of the time, as the cells will giver 3,7 V each most of the time.

I mainly use the electrcity to give me light in the cabin, but there is also a small 12 V water pump that gives med running water from a small container. I find i practical to use 12 V camping gear, and I am a bit concerned that the place might go up in flames if I connect the powerwall directly with up to 16 V. So I thougt I could Mount at DC-DC converter to give me 12 Volts on the load no matter the voltage on the powerwall. I will at no time use more than 25 Amps at a time, so a DC-DC converter that can handle 30 Amps should Work fine.

Is this setup a good idea, or am I missing something here ? Of course I know I would be better off with LiFePo4 cells, but I have no acces to that chemistry for the time beeing.

Regards Lassescout from Denmark.

Last edited:
"12v" is actually 12.5-14.5v for most applications.

Hence why Will always creams himself at a regulated 13.8v "12v" socket on a solar generator box, as 12.000v is pretty useless / under voltage for most things.