diy solar

diy solar

Combining Different Solar Panel Sizes : (2) 30w + (2) 100w

KenSmithMT

Hello all. I'm new to solar and learning a lot. Thanks for your help. I'm working on the layout for my van and would like to maximize solar panel size in the minimum space around the fan. I know it is not ideal, but is it ok to combine (2) 100w and (2)30w solar panels in parallel to an MPPT controller. They are all 12v Newpowa panels from the same manufacturer and same product line. Thanks

At maximum 100w panel produces 17.2v / mpp5.8A VOC 21.6v. The 30w panel produces 17.0v / mpp1.7A VOC 20.23v. The VOC is very close. Wouldn't the amps just add together in parallel?

Thanks!

Check the specs on the label on the back of the panel, or from the manufacturer/seller's web site.

Ideally you want the VoC and Vmp of each string to be the same but you can get away with up to 10% difference without many problems. The main one being the array will produce less power than the paper ratings would have you believe. Usually an arrangement like this will result in the higher voltage panels being pulled down to where the lower ones are. The datasheet, if you can find one!, for the panels will give you graphs that show the power output at a given voltage so you will be able to get a rough idea of the sort of loss in production by running a panel off its Vmp.

If you go over 10% you, IMO, should fit a blocking diode in line with the lower voltage string to prevent it from drawing power from the higher voltage string should the charge controller not be drawing enough current to pull the higher string down to the lower string.

Panels in parallel should have closely matched voltages, but current can vary as much as you wish.

Panels in series should have closely matched current ratings, but the voltage can vary as much as you wish, within the maximum rating for the panel which is typically 600 or 1000 volts.