diy solar

diy solar

Deye 5KW inverter/installation related questions

Navs

Hi all,
I am a newbie to this group, so please forgive me if I am out of line with my question pertaining to a solar installation comprising of the Deye 5KW inverter:

1. I initially will set up the system for off grid, which would require neutral earth bonding at the inverter side. I am aware the inverter has a grid input on whose lines a current transformer needs to be installed. I chose not to connect the grid lines at this time. I am also aware that the Victron inverters allow a normal 220V output from an AC socket to be used to charge the battery on their system that is installed off grid. Should my system battery be low, can I connect a normal 220V socket output to the grid input of my Deye inverter, and will removal of the neutral earth bond be required? Or will this burn any of the wiring in my home and trip the earth leakage on the main DB board?

Thank you for a valuable and most useful forum!

In an off-grid system, if you batteries are low, you need external power to charge them. Putting a charger on the grid input of the deye doesn't help.

If you have grid available, but don't want to connect to it, then get a Chargeverter to charge the battery from grid or generator.