diy solar

diy solar

Solar panel mounting question.

tacomaguy20

I'm new to solar and I'm not that familiar with the racking systems that are used to mount solar panels to the roof. Watching the installation videos, it doesn't seem too challenging but I'm wondering if there are certain spacing requirements that need to be met and if there are standard sizes for that spacing? And I'm not referring to the spacing of the panels themselves but more the spacing between the racking mounts and rails. Are there certain codes, does it depend on the panels I buy, or does it depend on the racking system itself? I have cement tiles and so I need the mounts that fit under the tile and attach to the roof studs (tile roof hooks I think they are called).

Hello the spacing depends on the weight of the "total system", the inclination of the solar panels and the distance to floor . to make the calculations wind speed (km/h) vs sen of angle º x 75kg x area in sq meters..the result will gives you the force at certain wind speed..if you put near to the roof in the same angle its not necesary make the formula-- just consider the amount of mass and the streng of you structure.... aprox 35kg per solar pannel... remeber not grab the panels to the tiles..must be to the structure....

Last edited:
Hello the spacing depends on the weight of the "total system", the inclination of the solar panels and the distance to floor . to make the calculations wind speed (km/h) vs sen of angle º x 75kg x area in sq meters..the result will gives you the force at certain wind speed..if you put near to the roof in the same angle its not necesary make the formula-- just consider the amount of mass and the streng of you structure.... aprox 35kg per solar pannel... remeber not grab the panels to the tiles..must be to the structure....