diy solar

diy solar

top balancing power supply was at .65a then overnight it went up to 3.6a

thumper70

Hi everyone, I am building my first lifepo4 battery and solar setup. I'm a former car mechanic and familiar with 12v systems. I read Will's and other articles about top balancing. Got an inexpensive Dr. Meter 10 amp power supply. I have 8 280ah cells, in parallel. Put the power supply at 3.62 (wouldn't dial in to 3.65, just jumped to 3.68). It started feeding the cells at 4.95 amps. Over the course of 7 days the amperage readings slowly fell. Last Sunday it was at 1.85, Monday .92, Tuesday.61, so I figured today when I got up it would be almost to zero. Uh uh. IT was back up to 3.85 amps. I don't understand. Any thoughts? Thanks Barry

The most common mistake when top balancing is fiddling with the voltage setting AFTER connecting the power supply to the battery.
Always adjust the voltage with the power supply disconnected .... then connect it to the battery ... and then leave it alone.

It is also very common for the cheap alligator clips to cause problems with bad connection .... it is a good idea to replace them with ring terminals to get a batter connection.

getting only <5A is clearly an indication of wiring issues. You should get 10A without problems.

Assuming your batteries are at 50% SOC, you have to charge 50%x8x280Ah = 1120Ah, which, at a 10A charge rate, takes approx 5 days. With <5A its more likely to take 10 days..

Better upgrade the wires and lugs. (and consider limiting to 8A, some cheap power supplies will fail if you pull full amps for such a long time)