diy solar

diy solar

18kpv, net metering, batteries, settings ?

Packen

I have an 18kpv, 30kwh lifepower4 batteries, and got approval from my co op to go to net metering. I’ve been running this for a couple of months now without net metering

So here are my questions.

I want to run from the grid and only use batteries when power from the grid is out. Is there a way to do that?

That way I can save my 30k of battery for outages.

Next, to go to net meter, all I need to do is click the export to grid, correct?

I know I’ll have more questions but I’ll start with those.

Next, to go to net meter, all I need to do is click the export to grid, correct?
Kinda. You want to make sure you set the amount of power that you are wanting to sell back as well. But once you have that set, you can enable export.

I want to run from the grid and only use batteries when power from the grid is out. Is there a way to do that?
I'm a little fuzzy on the details, so I will have to check once I have an opportunity, but if I remember correctly, you enable AC Charge and battery priority, and the inverter will power loads with grid, and keep the battery charged up. I may be missing something though. I think in battery priority, it may never use battery for powering loads, so let double check.

Others may know more than me, but the first question is how is the 18kpv wired up? If you are you using a backfeed breaker in your main panel the 18kpv will turn off the grid connection when power goes down so any loads in your main panel will also go off. The battery can still run any loads on the "load" connection. If you have a transfer switch or use the 18kpv as a transfer switch (supply side or feeder tap configurations), your loads can be run off of the battery when the grid is down.

Kinda. You want to make sure you set the amount of power that you are wanting to sell back as well. But once you have that set, you can enable export.