diy solar

diy solar

All-in-one for 600w solar

vanlifer2019

Hello Will
First and foremost I'd like to thank you for the very best informative videos you are posting.
I have 3 solar panel of 200 watt each, at 10amp. Which All-in-one unit is most suitable for me if I am running a DC air-conditioning and a DC 12v refrigrator at the same time. Also how many lithium battery I would need? (by the way, in your video i missed the model name and number for the Tesla battery). Regards, Fred

I would like to know the answer to this question to

I've been on the same path of building and research. I'm kinda new to DC and solar but hopefully this helps. I'm not sure why basic questions with simpler answers get no response here, other than the fact that you need to do the work for your particular set of parameters.

All of these ratings and numbers (panels, inverters, wire/fuse size, etc.) are somewhat standardized but each system needs it's own "stats". In Will's book and many places on the internet you can get the tools needed to research and design a system that will work for your particular needs. Since I am installing in a relatively small vehicle where space is premium, I went with the traditional method of designing my system. Will also gives fast, lazy, and Armageddon scenarios...

Here's my basic method after boiling down all the info. Please correct me in any instance; I'm just learning.

Step 1: (LOAD) Figure out what you plan to power, for how long each day, and get ratings for all of these appliances in Watt-hours. Max amperage is also helpful for wire and fuse sizing. I also plan to test most of these appliances on the bench for real-world numbers during use.