diy solar

diy solar

EG4 Mini-Split and EcoFlow Delta Pro Set-up

AB in NV

I'm fairly new to all things DC, but have years of experience on the AC side so I don't always understand how DC power is managed through digital circuitry. AC is much more analog.

I'm building an off-grid shop with apartment to live in while I build my eventual home. The living space is only about 160 sf. I can run anything I need off the Delta Pro, but generally only one large load at a time (saw, compressor, hot plate, microwave, etc.). My next purchase is going to be an EG4 12,000 btu hybrid mini-split for year-round climate control and direct-to-DC power supply option. But if I plug it into my Delta Pro, I won't be able to run any other large loads. But if I plug it into my solar panels (2-4) 48V Canadian Solar 445W Bi-facial, I loose the ability to keep my Delta Pro Charged. I know I could always buy a ... (fill in the blank) ... to get the system to work independently, but I would love to use the same panels to run the mini-split and then any extra power to charge the Delta Pro. This isn't my long-term plan, just for several months during home construction.

One system has an operating voltage of 90-450V (mini-split) and the other one has an operating range of 11-150V (Delta Pro). My hope was to use the same array for both. What would happen if I split my DC (either 96V or 144V) between the two units--kinda like sharing a bus bar? Would one automatically draw more than the other? Since both are able to operate on variable wattage, would it really matter? The Delta Pro will take whatever I give it, but if it wins the tug-of-war, the EG4 will shut down for 10 minutes due to low wattage. Could I try it out and see if it works, or will this fry the electronics on the input side of either device?