diy solar

diy solar

Figuring out how to split solar panels to match inverter limitations

Loay Odeh

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here - I am also new to solar in general. I am hoping I can get some clarification.

I currently have 18 panels from TommaTech (model TT665-132PM12), and I am planning on getting a Sungrow inverter (model SGRT10).
Here's the issue: The panels have a maximum power current (Imp) of 17.46A. The inverter spec sheet says the maximum input current is 37.5A (25A/12.5A).

I am assuming that means that one input has a limitation of 25A while the other input has a limit of 12.5A (please correct me if i'm wrong). I was thinking of connecting all the panels in series and using only the 25A input. Would something like this work fine?

I would appreciate any help on this matter. If there is any information that I didn't provide, please let me know and I will.

Solar Panels Data Sheet
Solar Inverter Data Sheet

Last edited:
The inverter has an MPPT voltage rage of 160-1,000v, and max voltage of 1,100v.
The panels have an operating voltage of 38.1, and VOC of 45.8
18 panels would have an operating voltage of 686v, and a max voc of 825v (unadjusted).
686v is within the operating range of the MPPT, and near the "rated pv input voltage" of 600v.
825v is well under the 1,100v max.
825v is well under the Max system voltage for the panels of 1,500v.

Looks good to me.
The trick is finding wire rated for 1,000v.

The inverter has an MPPT voltage rage of 160-1,000v, and max voltage of 1,100v.
The panels have an operating voltage of 38.1, and VOC of 45.8
18 panels would have an operating voltage of 686v, and a max voc of 825v (unadjusted).
686v is within the operating range of the MPPT, and near the "rated pv input voltage" of 600v.
825v is well under the 1,100v max.
825v is well under the Max system voltage for the panels of 1,500v.

Looks good to me.
The trick is finding wire rated for 1,000v.