diy solar

diy solar

How much panel watts is required to maintain 4 ea. 40ah batteries in the winter, in Seattle Washington?

nwsolar

Happy Friday! First post and I am a solar newbie. I am building a 24volt system using 4 ea. 40 ah, Valence RT series U1-12RT batteries.
I want to know how much Solar Panel Watts are going to be required to maintain the batteries during the winter with only a 500 watt hour draw. Also looking for advice on a good all in one controller that will grow with my system to 2,000 watt hour consumption in the future. I was thinking about the Victron Smartsolar MPPT 100/30.
Is this a good fit? Also will need a 12 volt convertor and be able to charge batteries with my Honda 2000 generator if needed. I appreciate your responses and ask you to forgive me if I stated something wrong :). !

I admit great ignorance with Valence batteries. It's never been clear to me if they have a BMS or need to be connected to an external BMS. I believe the answer is "both" depending on model.

Regardless,

Be sure your batteries have a BMS.
Be sure you have individually charged each 12V and then all 4 in parallel before you string them into 24V
Be sure you don't charge your batteries below freezing. It will kill them. Many batteries protect themselves, some don't.

Your PV needs depend on usage AND sunshine.

Use https://pvwatts.nrel.gov/pvwatts.php to get your insolation for your exact location:

1659739800441.png

Take the 500Wh and divide by the lowest number in the radiation column, 4.63 for me. 500Wh/4.63h = 108W

Given that you wish to expand in the future, you might want to buy the MPPT you need then now, and then pick a panel and add more as you need them, e.g.,

2000Wh/4.63h = 432W (I have great sun here in AZ, yours may be worse)

432W/28.8V = 15A charge controller.

Let's say you actually have a winter, your winter sun may be under 2 hours, say 1.7...

2000Wh/1.7h = 1176W (1200W).

1200W/28.8V = 42A, so a 40-50A MPPT would suffice.