diy solar

diy solar

Renogy Lycan 5000 power box

Rossio911

I’ve been looking for a good deal on a powerful all-in-one build for My campervan. I’m new at this stuff but this seems like a solid deal. With the discount, $3300.00 Free shipping. No direct 12/can’t be charged from cigarette lighter but I don’t know if there was a way around that. Looking for your thoughts. Thank you!

The Lycan 5000 use-case is for portable AC power as an alternative to a inverter genset where noise or fumes are undesired. It's great for it's intended purpose, but this would be wildly inflexible for a campervan build. You'll be lugging a 265+ lb box that takes up a massive chunk of space. There are much slimmer pre-built "drop in" electrical systems designed for vans if you really don't want to build your own. They will be more expensive, but they will actually work.

Check out the videos that Will Prowse has created on YouTube. He's looked at a lot of these solar generators.

Renogy would not be at the top of my list of vendors to consider.
The Lycan 5000 use-case is for portable AC power as an alternative to a inverter genset where noise or fumes are undesired. It's great for it's intended purpose, but this would be wildly inflexible for a campervan build. You'll be lugging a 265+ lb box that takes up a massive chunk of space. There are much slimmer pre-built "drop in" electrical systems designed for vans if you really don't want to build your own. They will be more expensive, but they will actually work.