diy solar

diy solar

Should I build one expandable system or multiple independent systems?

CampLife

Hello everyone!

Excited to get back into solar and looking forward to learning from this site! I'm new to the form and don't have much experience with solar. I built a small 12v solar setup about 4 years ago. It consisted of two 100ah lead batteries, a 100-watt foldable solar panel from Renogy (with a 30a Adventurer Charge Controller), fuse box, kill switch, and 750-watt inverter. I had the system operational for about 8 months but unfortunately, the batteries got messed up are no longer useable.

Over the next couple weeks, I'd like to build a new system but upgrade to lithium this time around. I'm hoping to reuse the wires (have some 2-ga, 10-awg and 14-awg), fuse box and kill switch I have from my first build. I'd also like to add a Dc-to-Dc charger and whatever else may be necessary. The inverter I currently have is modified sine wave so it may be a good idea to upgrade since I am going to be powering laptops, phones etc.

I plan on using this new system for 2-6 months. Then, after that initial 2-6 month period, I should have more space for solar panels and batteries. At that point, I'd like to expand on the system or create a second one. However, I'm not sure which is the best approach to take, expand or multiple systems?

Another concern for me, for the first 2-6 months I'm planning on having just the one, 100-watt foldable 12v panel for solar. However, after the first 2-6 month period, I'd like to add more solar panels and batteries and make the whole thing a 24v system.

Because of all that, I'm not sure if I should build a 12v system now and add a second 24v system later. Or build a 12v system now and add a second 12v system later (or add onto the existing 12v system). Or If I should build a 24v system now and add a second 24v system later (or add onto the existing 24v system).