diy solar

diy solar

12v or 24v

Budsy

I’m new at all this and want to know if 12v or 24v would be better for my 10 foot trailer with room for only one panel on the roof?
Thanks

What else is planned? inverter, size if so? lights? fan? airconditioner? That will help you make your decision

Have you done a guesstimate on what all equipment you'll want in there?

There are pro's and cons both ways. Just for a couple examples:

12v:
Pro's - smaller battery foitprint, 12v devices are readily available at an auto parts store, cheapest option.

Con's - Limited to about 1200w before wires get absurdly thick, AIO options for 12v are really limited, more batteries required in parallel for larger inverters.

24v:
Pro's - More wattage available for the same wire size, smaller SCC required

Con's - Limited options for accessories, converter needed for 12v appliances, larger battery footprint needed.

Whichever way you go I would recommend you DIY your battery because you can use larger capacity cells to compensate for the lack of space available. It's pretty easy and fun.

Being limited to a single panel for some reason really limits how much system you can built. It'd be pretty pointless to build a system so large it requires a week to recharge.

For a small trailer, I'd go with a 12v system, build yourself a 280 or 304ah battery with a good BMS, use 12v lights, USB ports, and cig lighter sockets. Get an MPP 1012LV to do your SCC, inverting, and generator/shore power. If you need more than 1kw, you could get the Ionic 2kw AIO but you'd need a 200a BMS or a pair of batteries. Throw a pair of 400w panels in parallel on the roof and you'll be golden. That's just my suggestion though.

I’m new at all this and want to know if 12v or 24v would be better for my 10 foot trailer with room for only one panel on the roof?
Thanks