diy solar

diy solar

48v Jakiper with one low cell UVP

Lukowski

Managed to run a charging cycle on 2 out of 3 of these 1st generation Jakiper batteries that have been sitting here for over a year...
Long story short. One of them has a low cell, so the UVP fault is preventing charging to occur. It's very low, according to the bms software it's reading 248mV, while the other cells are reading ~3200mV.
This battery has never been cycled.

Using a growatt 12kW to charge through utility.
Do I need to open the case and find the low cell and charge it manually?
Can I use the bms software to override the low volt protection fault to charge and balance the cells?
I am a beginner here so any input would be appreciated and welcome.
Would rather approach this problem the right way the first time instead of doing something dumb and causing more problems or potential danger.:eek::fp2

First I would check the low cell with a multi-meter and verify the voltage is being read accurately by the BMS. If its really that low there is a very good chance the cell is damaged and cannot be recovered. LFP chemistry really doesn't like to be cycled below 2.5V.
If you have access to a bench top power supply that can charge one cell at the proper voltage, its always worth a try before declaring it DOA.

First I would check the low cell with a multi-meter and verify the voltage is being read accurately by the BMS. If its really that low there is a very good chance the cell is damaged and cannot be recovered. LFP chemistry really doesn't like to be cycled below 2.5V.
If you have access to a bench top power supply that can charge one cell at the proper voltage, its always worth a try before declaring it DOA.
OK, multimeter ready, can the pack be measured without removing the bars connecting the terminals or do they have to be removed?
I think my father in law has a power supply that can be utilized.