diy solar

diy solar

Advice please re Solis RHI overnight charge settings

rhodes169

I'm very new to solar and have limited technical expertise. I have 10 PV's connected to a Solis RHI Inverter and 4 Pylontech batteries. I want to be able to charge the batteries at a cheap overnight rate. I can handle the menu setup on the inverter but am unsure of the settings required. I have been experimenting with different time settings but last night the system drew 7Kw which I thought seemed excessive? Should I reduce the time the batteries are allowed to charge?
Any advice or past experience would be welcome.

Go into advance settings / storage mode / self-use and then time settings.

From there you can enable a charge current and specify the time in hours and minutes that it will charge up.

So, if you set (say) 60.00A charge rate, that will draw approx 3kW. You can then adjust one of the charge timings to suit the amount of kWh you need.

e.g. if you want to add 4.5kWh, just leave it at 60A and configure a charge time to run for 1.5 hours.

You may also want to set the discharge current to 0.00A and set a discharge timing to be the remainder of your night rate time. That way, during your night rate the house will draw from the grid, rather than the batteries. It makes no sense to charge batteries up and then discharge them during night rate as you will just waste money due to the efficiency of charging and discharging.

So, if you want to add 4.5kWh and you're on economy 7, charge up for 1.5 hours from 1am to 2:30am and then prevent discharge from 2:30am to 8am. HTH

Edited to add: Alternatively, leave the charge time for the whole 7 hours of cheap rate (or however long your rate is) and adjust the charge current down to give you the required total kWh of boost. I can't remember whether the RHI is more efficient at a higher or lower power setting though.