diy solar

diy solar

Assistance to replace my 12 volt lead acid batteries with 16 lifep04 500ah batteries.

Fishtank

Hello, I have purchased 16 lifep04 batteries to replace my lead acid batteries.
I am new to solar systems and want to make sure I am going to do this right. I am off grid and have a magnum inverter and 4 outback charge controlers with a hub. I need to know how to configure the batteries for 12 volts and how can or should I bottom balance or top balance them and which BMS would be the best? I have watched a few videos of Will's but I am not A100% sure how to put it together and set it up safely. Any help is greatly apreciated.
Jody.

You need to help us understand how your current system is wired, and what you've purchased to replace it so we can help.
A wiring diagram (it doesn't have to be beautiful), some photos, etc. would help us understand the scope.

16 cells can give you FOUR Battery packs in Simple Series Configuration. DO NOT Parallel cells "unless" they are properly Matched & Batched to have the same IR (Internal Resistance through the working voltage range) - These cost MORE and are not just Voltage & IR matched at static storage voltage which is what 97% of vendors do. Matching & Batching requires 3 passes of charge/discharge with IR measurements at every 50mv point, it is time consuming & costly. There are Matched & Batched cells from factory but again - more $$$.

12V Basic Prismatic Configurations.jpg
Please Download THIS RESOURCE it will help you assemble & configure your battery packs.
Luyuan Tech Basic Lifepo4 Guide V1.0A

Hope it helps, Good Luck.

Thank you guys for the replies, I am grateful for the help. I will take some pics and post them. Steve, I don't understand the diagram you sent, how would I connect them? I will go to the resource you sent, but I realy ned a clear diagram of the four battery packs put together. Thank you again guys. Jody.

Here are a few pics, I don't have the knowledge to give a wiring diagram.