diy solar

diy solar

Backup power solution for grid connected home - Running 240v mini splits from 120v generator/inverter

Watts Happening

I call it like I see it.
We've recently seen some big power outages in the Northern Nevada area due to some storms, fortunately we weren't affected but some friends didn't have power for 5 days right in the middle of the city. That got me to thinking about how I could quickly and easily get us some backup power in the event of an outage. Two years ago I converted our entire 1,300sq/ft house to run on Pioneer mini-splits for heating and cooling and went with 240v units for efficiency and existing wiring. This is all being done with stuff I had laying around.

I'm a low voltage contractor and tow my work trailer to job sites. It has 1,600w of solar on the roof, 5kWh SOK battery and 3,000w Growatt inverter inside. It has a 120v 9kbtu mini split and tons of gadgets inside. I got to thinking, if I had a transformer I could convert the output of that trailers inverter from 120v to 240v and power the essentials in the house silently, and certainly save a lot of gas/propane from running a generator 24/7.

The following quick video shows the test setup, I certainly wouldn't suggest anyone make up a suicide cord as you'll see to back feed a house, but for my 15 minute test I didn't want to make up a bunch of wiring without proving the theory would work as expected. I happen to be using my Champion 2,500w inverter generator running on propane in the video, but in general I would use the output of the trailer to do it silently, and hook the generator up to the trailer when I need to charge the battery.