diy solar

diy solar

Charging 4 12V Marine Batteries for my pontoon

fwl

I'm new to this - fair warning.

I have a pontoon with a 3hp e-Drive MinnKota outboard. It has 4 12v 115 Ah lead acid batteries. I need to build a solar charging solution to charge the batteries. Can someone point me to a kit or components that would work for this need?

I don't need a quick charge.

Thanks.

I'm new to this - fair warning.

I have a pontoon with a 3hp e-Drive MinnKota outboard. It has 4 12v 115 Ah lead acid batteries. I need to build a solar charging solution to charge the batteries. Can someone point me to a kit or components that would work for this need?

I don't need a quick charge.

Thanks.

Lead acid type? Gel? AGM? Sealed? Flooded?

Do you already have a charger?

Marine applications often have specialized chargers that charge each 12V of 24V, 36V or 48V system. If you already have this, it would be wise to come up with a solution to power it.

If you simply want to charge all four batteries in series @ 48V, then that's pretty easy; however, it's critical that the batteries be well balanced - there are additional solutions for that.

As far as "quick charge" goes, lead-acids need to be charged at about 10-15% to stay healthy, so you're going to want about 10-20A of typical charge current. With Solar, it's variable, so even if you design for 20A, you'll likely get 16-18A in most cases.

Last edited:
As far as "quick charge" goes, lead-acids need to be charged at about 10-15% to stay healthy, so you're going to want about 10-20A of typical charge current. With Solar, it's variable, so even if you design for 20A, you'll likely get 16-18A in most cases.
That's per battery, so with 4 of them you're looking at 40a minimum, 60a better and about 600-800w of panels for a 460ah 12v system.