diy solar

diy solar

Grounding Mobile Solar

WilliamH

Question 1: I am building a solar light trailer. I have two 250W 60 cell modules with Vmp of 30.1V. (I would have bought 72 cell modules, but these were donated) Is it all right to put them in series which could exceed 80Voc in cold temperatures. I don't know why, but I was under the impression that mobile solar was not to exceed 50V DC.

Question 2: The charge controller is a Morningstar PS40 MPPT. It has a system ground terminal that the manual says must be bonded to a permanent earth ground. Can the trailer frame safely take the place of the earth ground?

Question 3: Do the module frames and other metal components have to be bonded to the trailer frame?

Question 4: Why is there no mention of grounding in the mobile systems displayed on the this website? Am I missing something?

Again...I'm new to mobile solar.

Thanks

I found a video of William Prowse explaining grounding on one of his You-tube videos. I'll share it with you all this weekend. I'm not at home right now.

Here it is. It answered some of my questions.

I did continue my search and learned some more from other sources. I was able to find the answers to most of my questions. I'll give it a go:

(Disclaimer: Please remember that I am a beginner with mobile solar and I am conveying what I have learned from sources that I believe to be legitimate. If any of you out there with more experience see errors here, please let me know. I hope to get this right for my project and to share with others what I learn. I am not disclosing my other sources in case my understanding does not accurately represent their explanations)