diy solar

diy solar

Help needed with mixing lifepo4 brands in parallel. NO CHOICE. Please read.

phantomreaver

Hello and apologies as I now realize this is in the wrong section as I never really use forums. I need some advice on finishing my battery bank. This is my first time trying my hand at solar. I just bought two Redodo 12.8v 230ah lifepo4 batteries with 150a bms. I planned to do a 24v system with two sets of two 12.8v 230ah batteries so I would have a 24v 460ah bank. I couldn't afford the other 2 batteries I would need for my bank all at once so I waited a month and now those batteries have apparently been discontinued and I can't seem to find any that are close in spec. This will be a 24/7 off grid almost 12kwh system. (If I had the other 2 batteries of the same type).

I know everyone says to never mix batteries but without the full capacity my project is pretty much ruined? What can I do?

Below images are of the battery, what connections are supported and the battery setup I was attempting to go for from the manual.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230907_215849_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20230907_215849_Messenger.jpg
    209 KB · Views: 5
  • 20230907_215709.jpg
    20230907_215709.jpg
    455.1 KB · Views: 6
  • 20230907_215605.jpg
    20230907_215605.jpg
    468.2 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
I live in Michigan where we can go quite a few days without sun. A 10kwh capacity would be the bare minimum to be off grid 24/7 without fully draining the batteries and I am stuck at 5.9 kwh.

The plan was to try my hand at this first when I had the money saved up, make sure everything worked correctly then add the other 2 batteries when I could afford to do so. Unfortunatly as I said they stopped selling them within a month of my purchase.

While not ideal, make sure the battery being added is about as same as you can get. Same chemistry (LiFePO4?), same number of cells and both both have the same charging voltage and start balancing about at the same point.