diy solar

diy solar

How to calculate needed battery size (for only 1 fridge and 1 freezer) to run indefinitely?

ck42

Complete newb here. I know enough to understand the concepts and be dangerous.

Here's my goal: I want to setup enough solar to be able to both run the fridge/freezer during the day from solar... while simultaneously charging the batteries enough so that the fridge/freezer can then run from the batteries after the day's solar charging time until the next day when the fridge/freezer can run from solar again. If I could get this type of setup, I could power the fridge/freezer indefinitely. (obviously there's variables at play here, but for hypothetical discussion, let's just assume perfect sunny days every day - once I understand better how to calculate, then I'll start factoring in no-solar charge days into the equation)
- First question: Is this too lofty of a goal? (i.e, yes, it's possible but would cost a fortune)
- If too ambitious, would it help to scale down the requirements such that this cycling would only last me 1, 2, or only 3 weeks before the batteries wouldn't last overnight (or next 1 or 2 cloudy days)?

What I know: The fridge has a 24hr measured average consumption of 51W/hr. The freezer is 61W/hr. So I'll just round this up to 120W/hr. There's also the inrush current for both of these to be considered (which should be approx 1.5 x the running wattage of the compressor).

Are there any other values I need to figure this out?

With this just being my first solar setup, I want to keep this simple and just protect cold/frozen foods for now. I plan on expanding in the future, but am waiting until I move to a another home before going deeper and building a bigger system.

If you are going to move to another home I would put off your solar plans until then. Perhaps some simple system that you can get familiarity with and power a few things without achieving your goal of indefinite power to fridge and freezers.