diy solar

diy solar

Is discharge programmable?

John.DS99

Is there a thing that would allow me to output the stored energy in my solar panel system batteries in a way that I can control?

Something like this set of rules.
1. Wait until the batteries are charged by solar to 100% capacity.
2. Begin discharging (replacing grid power) if there is any significant wattage being received from the solar panels.
3. Continue discharging until the battery is at 1% capacity.
4. Instead of step 2 (OR) If it is 4-9 pm (peak hours) begin discharge until the battery is at 1%.
5. (Reach here after Step 3 or Step 4) Return to grid power and goto 1.

Something like that. I guess this would be some sort of programmable charge controller?

I'm a newbie so don't expect me to explain everything. I think of the setup as something like my powerstation which has both AC and DC input, but the output is very dumb.

If such a thing exists, what would it be called, and if not, why doesn't it exist?

Thanks,

John

Here's how my system works:
As the sun comes up, the first thing the PV does is start to cover home loads.
Then once there is excess solar, beyond what is needed to cover home loads, the battery starts charging with excess solar.
If the battery is full before peak rates start at 4 pm the excess is sold to the grid.
At 4 pm, battery charging stops and PV/battery cover loads through peak hours and overnight.

Come the next morning, it doesn't matter what the battery state of charge is, it will charge once there is excess solar.

If the battery runs low in the middle of the night, the grid covers loads.

What your looking for doesn't necessarily have one specific name. Depending on the vendor it could be a hybrid inverter, all in one, or a combination of inverter and solar charge controller.

As said above, A hybrid or all in one can do this as can discrete components, but there are caveats.

- may not be able to do this natively without an external controller