diy solar

diy solar

Mind's exploding, would love some help!

mikexavier

Hey all, I've been at this for a while now... I have no background in electrics so it's a bit of a mind-bending exercise for me. Here's where I'm at so far (attached PDF). I'd love some general feedback on this system for an RV/Campervan if it all looks "correct", safe, efficient etc.

I'm stuck on wire size/fuse sizes and locations and if I need a relay between the BMS and Battery protect - I had seen one of Will's videos where he mentions using a relay with a 24-12v transformer but not sure if I need to use one or not.

Thanks for the help, really appreciate it!

Mike

Attachments

• van-electrics.pdf
    848.4 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
attach the img can't read text on your post , might want to mark it as an RV/camper I was looking at the Driving try to work out what that was. Most call that the starting and the other house bank.

attach the img can't read text on your post , might want to mark it as an RV/camper I was looking at the Driving try to work out what that was. Most call that the starting and the other house bank.
Thanks, @Picasso I've updated the image and attached it as a PDF.

@mikexavier
Is it your intention to NOT measure your inverter draw? It needs to connect on the ground end of the shunt vs three battery end if you wish to monitor its draw.

No, that wasn't my intention... thanks for letting me know! I've updated the schematic, does that look right to you now? Thanks @SCClockDr

Attachments

• van-electrics-2.pdf
    848.4 KB · Views: 19
Two more things.
On your SCC's the PV wires appear reversed. Pos going in to Neg on both & the battery wires need to move left one terminal.

Like so? I checked the user manual on the Tracer BN SCC and it looks like it goes +- +- +- as you mentioned in the previous comment.

Attachments

• van-electrics-3.pdf
    848.4 KB · Views: 24