diy solar

diy solar

New to forum, not so much to electricity.

finite

Hello ladies and gents and those that are niether(do yall do that here)?.

Im a 20+ year electrician that got put onto a dodge promaster build out a couple years back and have wanted a system of my own ever since, Well that time has come.

I plan on starting small and expanding as i can afford so im starting with my chicken coop, yes my chicken coop. It will power a security light on the exterior maybe 1 light in the interior and probably a heated water bowl in the winter time.

Im starting out with the Renogy 200W kit for the panels and charge controller(it was on sale) for storage i ended picking up a box of 4 EVE 304 AH cells(also on sale) (i know its a large bank for the # of panels) and went with a daly 250a smart BMS.

I think i got lucky picking out the cells as i admitidly didnt do as much research as i should have. The BMS however im not as confident about after reading some things. like most things nowadays though sometimes you get good ones and sometimes you get a stinker.

Ill wrap it up with some pics of the promaster build out feel free to critique it as im self taught with all things solar.

Attachments

• 20200522_134310.jpg
    20200522_134310.jpg
    108.5 KB · Views: 19
  • 20200526_155318.jpg
    20200526_155318.jpg
    163.8 KB · Views: 18
  • 20200724_153242_HDR.jpg
    20200724_153242_HDR.jpg
    134.1 KB · Views: 17
  • 20201001_095327_HDR.jpg
    20201001_095327_HDR.jpg
    261.4 KB · Views: 18
Im starting out with the Renogy 200W kit for the panels and charge controller(it was on sale) for storage i ended picking up a box of 4 EVE 304 AH cells(also on sale) (i know its a large bank for the # of panels) and went with a daly 250a smart BMS.

It is NOT a large bank for the array. There's no significant relationship between LFP battery cap and PV current like there is with lead acid. More capacity just means more boondocking lusciousness before you have to charge!