diy solar

diy solar

Newbie need advice on 12v setup for our houseboat

Dirtracer27x

Ok so this is my first time putting together a solar setup. We have a house boat we will be installing on. We will be converting our norcold absorption fridge to a 12v compressors that will draw 11.6 amps. ounce cool probably less as it will kick on and off. Other usages will be less with just basic battery chargers for cell phones and my cpap machine, water pumps etc. I am not sure on what wire size I should use and my best way to run the panels In series or Paralell. Here is what I have so far

1. 2 x qcell 315 watt panels
  2. 2 x qcell 335 watt panels
  3. Epever 100 amp solar controller
  4. renogy 2000 inverter charger
  5. 2 x chins 300ah lifepo4 =600 ah
  6. 10 awg wire
  7. 4 panel solar combiner and breakers/ disconnects
  8. also have a make sky blue 60amp solar controller if needed

can anyone lead me in the right direction. I also thought about only running 3 panels.

Attachments

• BE04876B-427F-4A5A-97F3-5708559E33C1.png
    BE04876B-427F-4A5A-97F3-5708559E33C1.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 5
Three panels is best in parallel since only pairs match. Actually all parallel is fine or the matching pairs in series is probably best.

What is the battery voltage?

Need to see the specs sheet on the 335w panels to see how much difference there is and how well the 4 panels will match up. Initial gut reaction would be 2s2p ( so no combiner box needed) with 1 of each panel on each string to balance out the nerfing.

10awg wire would be the way to go.

Yup, those are pretty close. The amperage is off enough that you could easily do 2s2p with a pair of 315's and the other pair of 335's.

Get a couple Y branch adapters, wire into your MPPT and you're solid.

Now you just need to pick out the fuses, breakers, wire sizes, etc.

Well the panels to SCC would be 25a (20a × 120%)

SCC to batteries would be 120a (100a × 120%)