diy solar

diy solar

pv string

the dosser

i have 6pv panels in 2 SP strings going to combiner box, voc 27.28 imp 10.51 200w pv
can i add two more panels in series and plug into combiner box , or do i need to add these panels to the 2 SP strings
my cc is victron 150 70
i am a rookie , thanks for the help

Please provide more details and clarity.
I'm not understanding your current strings.

Assuming Victron uses a normal naming convention and your max voc is 150v I'd rewire so you have a 4s2p setup. This would give you ~110 voc, ~ 21a; keeping the victron happy.
I'm also assuming all panels will be aimed the same direction and partial shading isn't an issue.

they will be in the same direction, charging a 24v 660ah battery bank , i currently have 6 panels 3inS and 3in P
the panels i want to add will have partial shading in the morning for 2to 3 hours

they will be in the same direction, charging a 24v 660ah battery bank , i currently have 6 panels 3inS and 3in P
You need to express things more clearly. This statement is clearly incorrect. I think what you actually mean is that you have two parallel strings of 3 panels in series. You would properly write that as 3S2P.

If the original question is can you add two additional panels to each series string, then the answer is no. With a Voc of 27.28, five in series would be 27.28Voc X 5 panels = 136.4V. That looks OK, but in California, you need to expect at least freezing weather, once or twice a year. That would bump up the Voc to >152.7Voc, which is dangerous for your controller.

If the original question is can you add one panel each to the individual strings (4S2P) then the Voc at freezing would be 27.28V X 4 X 1.12x = 122.2Voc, which would be within the limits of your controller.