diy solar

diy solar

SOK Auto-Shutdown If Low?

porkchopmountain

I'm new to LiFePO4 batteries and I have my eye on the SOK 12V100Ah LiFePO4 Battery Bluetooth & Built-in heater battery. I've read that if you run the battery down to 0%, then it damages them.

Does the BMS protect against this and would it shut the SOK battery down before it gets low enough to damage it? Is this called the "BMS Low-Voltage Disconnect"? Do all SOK batteries come with this?

Thank You!

Yes, the SOK battery includes low-voltage disconnect around 10.4V (per their product page). The only pre-built LiFePO4 batteries I have ever seen that do not include this protection are those designed for engine starting.

I'm new to LiFePO4 batteries and I have my eye on the SOK 12V100Ah LiFePO4 Battery Bluetooth & Built-in heater battery. I've read that if you run the battery down to 0%, then it damages them.

Does the BMS protect against this and would it shut the SOK battery down before it gets low enough to damage it? Is this called the "BMS Low-Voltage Disconnect"? Do all SOK batteries come with this?

Thank You!
The answers to your questions are Yes and Yes.
All BMS’s offer a low voltage disconnect that protect against low voltage but I would not want to rely on the BMS to do what you should be doing yourself. I feel a BMS is there as an insurance policy if something goes wrong but you should be monitoring your batteries voltage yourself and make sure it doesn’t get low in the first place. Please don’t think that you don’t need other forms of battery monitoring just because the battery has a safety protocol built in. I don’t have a built in Bluetooth in my SOK so maybe I’m just being paranoid? Maybe if mine had Bluetooth built in then I’d think differently.