diy solar

diy solar

Solar panel array size for small 24V off-grid system

DPCabin

I thought I was good to go on the solar panels and battery components for my off-grid cabin but after watching one of William Prouse' videos I'm not sure. I have 4-12v 100aH AGM batteries that I'm planning to connect to create a 24v system. I also have 6-100watt polycrystalline panels that I was planning to wire in 2 strings of 3 panels each connected in series which = 10 amps & 36V going into charge controller. (I'm a novice so please excuse any inappropriate terminology etc. or errors of other kinds but please comment on them). Is there a problem with this plan? I think I heard that 40V was needed for a 24V system from WProuse. I can buy 2 more panels if need be but I'd rather not if this setup will work. In case this is relevant, this is a weekend cabin with solar to be used for lights and ceiling fans initially. I'm eager to get the charge controller soon so I can get the system running but not sure whether I will get a 40amp or 60amp MPPT one yet. Thanks for any insight into my plans!

In other words, what does the quote below from the DIYMobileSolar site mean? Will 2 strings of 3 panels (described in my first post) work or would I need to wire all 6 panels in series (=72V) or buy 2 more panels to have 2 strings of 4 panels (=48V)? Thanks.
  • You need a higher voltage solar panel array. Not really a con because you should be series connecting your panels anyways. Open circuit voltage of solar panel array must be at least 40+ volts if you plan to charge a 24 volt battery with it. This means that if you are using 12 volt panels (open circuit of 17-20 volts), you will need to series connect your panels to create a larger voltage.