diy solar

diy solar

SolArk15k vs Eg4 18k

Tiger Tom

Im about to stir up some s**t on this and I am not bashing Signature Solar. They supply great products

I was about to pull the trigger on 2 SolArk 15k and I see Eg4 18k about to launch in 2 weeks. Signature Solar does put out a good product at a good price.
I am a contractor and able to purchase 2 SolArks at contractor price $14900 and priced out 2 18ks at $10,600 with Military Discount. A big price difference at $4300 which pays for the solar racking.
I’ve looked at SolArk, Signature Solar and Sandi (high voltage out of China)

SANDI
Make a great inverter. But have decided not to buy from China as there is no immediate support via mfr or community support via forums.

SOLARK
Yes expensive and I can buy 2 Deye 16ks for the price of one SolArk15k. BUT SolArk has excellent sales, technical help and help via Facebook and DIY Solar Forums. But they don’t have their optimizers ready for sale for a more integrated system.

EG4 18K
New product and more powerful than the SolArk 15Ks. Also the Tigo rapid shut down optimizers integrate into Signature Solars online monitoring platform(supposed to).
BUT my biggest concern is YouTube videos with Will Prowse testing of the new Eg4 8ks
plus I think another other off brand similar unit. But this is regarding the 8k. The two or three 8ks have had issues. I don’t want issues to work thru. I’m sure he pisses off some mfrs with his public feedback but they know he is honest and shows the defects in the products he evaluates.
I used to work for an appliance manufacture and when we sent out samples for customers to test we made sure they were perfect. Especially the ones that went to Consumer Reports, United Laboratories or ETL.