diy solar

diy solar

Total Noob wants to run a mini fridge

DIY_And_Artsy_Guy

Hello, All!
I'm completely new to solar setups, and at this point I am just researching, but I have something specifically in mind. If I sound like a total and complete dipstick, please explain how. I think I've got the general just of things from the research I've done the last couple of weeks, but I could be completely wrong since I've never talked with someone who's done this before.
I am planning on going completely off grid at some point this year. I understand that you can create large solar setups to run an entire camper, but I'm not comfortable doing something that large scale starting off. My goal is to run my 4.2cu foot single mini fridge. I've been contemplating using 2 6v batteries that I already have (bought by mistake at Christmas and never got around to returning them) rather than buying a single 12v to test it out. The question is would my two 6v LiFePO4 with 6Ah and 36Wh run my mini fridge the same as a 12v in a solar set up? Just the mini fridge. Would it be worth it to try, or am I likely to nuke my fridge if I try?

If it's an absorption fridge capable of running on propane, forget it. They consume massive amounts of power. Don't bother.

If it's a compressor fridge, it will use about 0.4kWh/day or 400Wh/day. Your batteries only have 72Wh.

You would need about 200W of PV with sunrise to sunset exposure to guarantee you could generate the needed 400W/day, but without enough battery storage, it's a no-go.

If it's an absorption fridge capable of running on propane, forget it. They consume massive amounts of power. Don't bother.

If it's a compressor fridge, it will use about 0.4kWh/day or 400Wh/day. Your batteries only have 72Wh.

You would need about 200W of PV with sunrise to sunset exposure to guarantee you could generate the needed 400W/day, but without enough battery storage, it's a no-go.