diy solar

diy solar

What burns under water?

Apparently Li-ion! - if the cells are in thermal runaway, don't they release oxygen and combustable volatile compounds?
Perhaps the water is the conductor, leaked into the battery case and shorted the cells as a consequence of the accident?
Everyone remembers Science Class - Magnesium in water !

It was a Tesla, so an explody sodium [edit lithium] ion. But water shouldn't reach the cells themselves. No mention of crash damage. Just high voltage causing electrolysis of water? What ignited it? Oh, maybe the short circuit caused cell failure? BMS could have stopped. But maybe only for downstream shorts, and salt water electrolyte made contact before the protection?

Only magnesium dies young, Sodium is much more fun!

Last edited:
"People", that is a presumption. These days.
Perhaps the author's time budget was microseconds?

Or not:

This one:

"I am a digital journalist with over ten years of experience in journalism"

There is that number "10" again. Which means heavenly perfection? Or is that Earthly perfection? Or is it something from Buddism?
There is a deep meaning to the number being repeated, I'm sure of it ...

"People", that is a presumption. These days.
Perhaps the author's time budget was microseconds?

Or not:

This one:

"I am a digital journalist with over ten years of experience in journalism"

There is that number "10" again. Which means heavenly perfection? Or is that Earthly perfection? Or is it something from Buddism?
There is a deep meaning to the number being repeated, I'm sure of it ...
Only if you repeat it ...Ten Times!

I am an AI journalist
I have 10-months experience,
I have generated 10TB of text,
In ten subjects,
In Ten common languages
Working from my windows-10 interface,
At latitude 10N
Chitorgarh,
Bemusingly,
In my my half Do-decahedran, solar powered 10kW shelter...

Times: