diy solar

diy solar

BMS necessary or not

husknbusk

I noticed this thread on Will's website. It says:
You can use a dedicated BMS for your LiFePO4 battery to manage various safety features, but you don't need one. You can build safety protection features as you please. Also understand that many BMS available online are cheaply made and will fail before the battery does. Many EV/marine forum people agree that a BMS is more of a liability than a benefit, unless you spend the big bucks. High quality BMS are so expensive that you are better off buying a drop-in lead acid replacement lifepo4, like the battle born, that has an actual warranty and will last for ages (click here to learn more). If you are trying to build a super cheap battery with good LiFePO4 cells, and you follow the instructions on this page and add the most basic safety features, you wont need a BMS.

But he seems to use BMS's in the videos I've seen. Is this logic still sound? I'm just getting started and wondering if there's consensus on which direction to go: with BMS or without. I'm going the DIY route anyway, so is it much bigger of a deal to balance the cells myself and choose a charge controller with temperature cutoffs instead of using a BMS?

Wow, thanks for the quick replies!

I noticed Will's teardown of the Ampere Time 12v LiFePo concluded its in-built BMS lacked low temperature cutoff. Is it a big deal to compensate for that using the charge controller?

I was looking at this Lisuateli--no reviews, but the info claims to have low temperature cutoff, and it's fairly inexpensive compared to BattleBorn and even the lower cost Ampere Time. If you have a gut instinct about taking the "risk" on it, I'd be happy to hear.

Wow, thanks for the quick replies!

I noticed Will's teardown of the Ampere Time 12v LiFePo concluded its in-built BMS lacked low temperature cutoff. Is it a big deal to compensate for that using the charge controller?