diy solar

diy solar

Explain Specifications on LifePO4 with inaccessible internal BMS

garetwo

This should probably be in the BEGINNER section…but this forum looks very specific. I am an electrician learning about PV systems, I have a client trying to become as off-grid as he can. He has a system with a small PV array feeding into four inverters: SunGold Power 6.5KW BluePower SP6548 SOLAR INVERTER / CHARGER.

There are sixteen batteries. I am still trying to fully grasp 4S4P versus 4P4S and why there is a choice – I apologize for this and many areas where I lack understanding.

These sixteen JITA LifePO4 12.8Vdc 300Ah batteries have a spec sheet:

PER BATTERY
Nominal Voltage
12.8​
VDC
Charge protection voltage
14.2​
-14.6VDC
Discharge protection voltage
10.0​
-10.8VDC
Maximum continuous charging curent100AMPS
Maximum continuous discharging current200AMPS
Temp range CHARGE
32​
~122Fahernheit
Temp range DISCHARGE
-4​
~140Fahernheit

The inverters have settings for charging the battery bank. Do the specs above mean the non-accessible BMS provides a range of protection and we should set the charger rates to be in the middle?

Does discharge protection voltage mean it will drop out a cell somewhere from 10-10.8Vdc so we should try to maintain a charge above 10.8?

The SunGold Power 6.5KW BluePower SP6548 SOLAR INVERTER / CHARGER. is a 48V system that requires 48V batteries.
It is NOT wise to use 12V batteries in series to make a 48V power source. There are far too many issues with such - Just don't do it. This is a Bodge that will cause issues... There are far too may here who have learned this expensive lesson.

A 48V LFP battery pack consists of 16 LFP Cells, 1 BMS (Battery Management System), and a Breaker/Fuse.

Also be aware that at this time, you can get 48V/100AH Rackmountable battery packs in USA for $1300 from a Quality Manufacturer.
There are others as well, but Bang per buck with "all the goodies" these are a great option for getting it right the first time.