diy solar

diy solar

Help needed please, new member.

Faggy

Hi, I am new to solar. I have a Victron 175w panel connected to a Victron MPPT 75/15 controller by 5m of Solar Panel PV cable 4mm & 6mm.
I have 2 questions, what cable should I use between the MPPT and the EXV110AGM Enduroline AGM 95Ah Leisure Battery and should I include and if so what size fused circuit breaker. Totally confused by all the reading I've done.

Attachments

• Solar set up.JPG
    Solar set up.JPG
    109.2 KB · Views: 5
So the Victron 75/15, means, 75v is maximum PV volts allowed on the PV side, and the 15 means, 15a battery charger output is possible on the battery cable side. So 15a requires at minimum a 14 AWG cable, but 12 AWG would be better, and longer lengths should be even larger for less loss. How long of a cable run is it? Cable gauge calculator website exist where you can figure in length, and the fuse or breaker should be sized to protect the gauge of the battery wire so it can't meltdown if over-current is reached...

Thanks Samsonite801, distance is no more than 30cm, 12awg with a 15a fuse/breaker?

Looks functional. Novel way to perform circuit protection on the charging wire, but I think a properly sized fuse at the battery itself is still needed. It would protect everything if “something bad” happens and the battery winds up crash-bleeding to a grounded item.

I might not want an agm but if your battery is going to be in a residence that could be a good compromise.

Looks functional. Novel way to perform circuit protection on the charging wire, but I think a properly sized fuse at the battery itself is still needed. It would protect everything if “something bad” happens and the battery winds up crash-bleeding to a grounded item.

I might not want an agm but if your battery is going to be in a residence that could be a good compromise.