diy solar

diy solar

My Household Solar Power Bank

AZRoadrunner

Just wrapped up the project! This is my home solar emergency power bank. Everything will be enclosed in a custom cabinet (to be installed in a few weeks). The system consists of:
- Four 195-watt Eco-Worthy panels, mounted on our porch covering, facing due south.
- Three Weize 24-volt, 200 AH batteries, for 600 AH total storage.
- Victron 150/35 charge controller
- Victron Multiplus 24/3000/70 Inverter/Charger
- Victron BMV-712 battery monitor

This system does not connect to the house electrical -- use requires extension cords connected to the power strip close to the floor. The purpose is to keep refrigerators, freezers, and other essential devices running in the event of a lengthy power outage.

You'll also see a connection labeled "Cart Charging Port". Last year I built a roll-around solar generator, it can plug into there for charging.

IMG_6648.jpg

IMG_6649.jpg

I am not a Victron expert but it looks nice. Not enough to charge a car battery but quite ok to run the refrigerators, etc..

Looks like you could use a plastic bushing at the end of the curved metal conduit at the top left.

Much neater than anything I’ve done ?.

Looks like you could use a plastic bushing at the end of the curved metal conduit at the top left.

Much neater than anything I’ve done ?.
Agreed. Bonus points for putting it in a box. I'd probably swap the battery breaker for an MRBF fuse or jump to a class T if there are plans to jump to 48V.
Nice clean install.

QILIPSU 4 Way Outdoor Breaker Box IP65 PC/ABS Alloy Plastic Din Rail Power Distribution Enclosure with Clear Cover, Bus Bars and DIN Rail (4 Way) https://a.co/d/1Of5O92

I would love to see a breaker box and at least a couple of circuits on the inverter 120v output. That MultiPlus can pass 50amps into that power strip, and doubt that power strip is rated for more than 20amps. And I agree with MRBF battery fuses instead of that breaker.

Looks good. Nice and neat.