diy solar

diy solar

Solar Array Size

Rescuebox

I am very new to using solar. I have been studying it for a while but I can’t seem to find my answer. I am sure this has already been discussed but I have not been able to find it.

I am building an off grid system for my Rescue Camper. I plan to have a 24 volt battery system. I plan to use four 24 volt 200 ah batteries.

All of my lights and water pumps will be run on 12 volts. I will run my refrigerator, Air conditioner and occasionally a microwave on 110 volts. I may eventually swap my A/C to a 12/24 volt Mini Split A/C.

If I have it calculated correctly I will need 800 ah of Lithium Ion batteries to run my A/C for up to 10 hours at night. The trouble I am having is figuring out how many watts of solar that I need to recharge my 800 ah of batteries and run my A/C in the daytime.

Could someone tell me if this will work and how to calculate my solar array size?

Thanks

I am very new to using solar. I have been studying it for a while but I can’t seem to find my answer. I am sure this has already been discussed but I have not been able to find it.

I am building an off grid system for my Rescue Camper. I plan to have a 24 volt battery system. I plan to use four 24 volt 200 ah batteries.

So 800Ah of 24V (25.6V LFP) is 20,480Wh.

All of my lights and water pumps will be run on 12 volts. I will run my refrigerator, Air conditioner and occasionally a microwave on 110 volts. I may eventually swap my A/C to a 12/24 volt Mini Split A/C.

I would look hard at a simple 110VAC unit and compare the cost to a DC unit. IMHO, the efficiency gains rarely justify the increased price.

If I have it calculated correctly I will need 800 ah of Lithium Ion batteries to run my A/C for up to 10 hours at night.

If we're talking typical rooftop RV A/C, then those burn as much as 1500W.

20480/1500 = 13.65h (you'll lose some in efficiencies)