diy solar

diy solar

solar + lifepo4 on sailing boat

Athena119

Hi guys
I am planning a 12v system on a sailing boat. It should be simple, reliable and redundant - to ensure that it continue to function if one component fails.
The maximum power consumption will be 1500 w (via inverter) = 125 a (peak 200a ?) + max. 50a board
I chose one relay each: Kilovac EV200: 500ah - only 1.7 w hold power. BMS I probably to use the Ant. Not sure yet, maybe Chargery or Electrodacus.
What do you think?
Suggestions for improvement are welcome
Regards
Martin

schema3.JPGP.s. sorry for my english

Most people keep the starting motor not connected to the invertor/battery bank or use a switch when needed to connect them together.....I would advise leaving them 2 different systems but I am not a expert. I am guessing you want to be able to charge battery bank by running the motor?

Not sure why you are using a relay? (the ones you show draw a lot of power to just be enabled). They make many large switches that would do it. Unless you want to remotely control it, then the relay may be needed.

Good luck..

the starter motor is connected to a lead acid battery. The alternator is connected to lifepo4 but there is a switch. I have to test it if it gets hot while loading.
I don't trust the ant bms to stand strong currents, thin cables and no heat sinks. I think it is safer with a relay.

Hi guys
I am planning a 12v system on a sailing boat. It should be simple, reliable and redundant - to ensure that it continue to function if one component fails.
The maximum power consumption will be 1500 w (via inverter) = 125 a (peak 200a ?) + max. 50a board
I chose one relay each: Kilovac EV200: 500ah - only 1.7 w hold power. BMS I probably to use the Ant. Not sure yet, maybe Chargery or Electrodacus.
What do you think?
Suggestions for improvement are welcome
Regards
Martin

View attachment 8554P.s. sorry for my english