diy solar

diy solar

solar underground cable sizing

shadowmaker

Solar Addict
Total noob for solar, but trying to make DIY 44kW vertically installed system with bifacial panels here in Finland. I can tell you it is overwhelming sometimes and learning takes time as I don't have anyone experienced enough to turn to when I have questions. Unfortunately time is scarce just now.

I'm going to have 8 strings with 8 panels each (63 panels total so one string is 7 panels only, 4x15kW inverters). There's 4 underground aluminum cables buried 1m deep already in place , 4x25mm2 each. Lengths from field to inverters are 100m, 115m, 130m and 145m.

Panels are Bluesun 700W bifacials. Specs with optimistic 25% backside gain.
- Pmax= 875W
- Vmp= 39,6V
- Imp= 22,10A
- Voc= 47,8V
- Isc= 23,50A

Do I need more cables to keep losses down?

start punching numbers into https://www.calculator.net/voltage-...ceunit=meters&amperes=62&x=112&y=30&ctype=nec

25mm looks to be somewhat in between 3AWG and 4 AWG sized wire

This tool will most likely be helpful. https://www.midnitesolar.com/sizingTool/index.php
From what i punched in your Open voltage circuit will be 452VDC at -30*C. Which you might experience colder than -30*C
The problem being a noob is what numbers to punch these calculators? 8xVmp? 8xVoc? 8xImp/Isc? 1xImp/Isc?
Temperature coefficient for this panel is -0,24 IIRC and we rarely go under -35C here. To my understanding 25mm2 is just a fraction bigger than 4AWG.

My 2 cents... First I size wire and OCP based on Isc. Then for power losses I size wire based on NOCT. Imp x .8 if you can't find the published specs. People often (grossly) oversize wire for conditions that only exist a few hours a year. In most cases, and by most I mean none, you're never going to get that money of upsizing the wire to save a few lost kWh's back.

One calculator will tell you what your max VOC is. One calculator will tell you how much line loss there is.