diy solar

diy solar

SolarEdge P700 Optimizer Pairing?

jimolson52

We're in a brief transition between our original installing company and a new one yet to be chosen. The issue is the installer's $600 labor charge to replace a bad optimizer on our ground-mounted 33kW array. I have an EE degree and am tackling optimizer replacement myself, complete with the recommended personal protective gear.

I successively substituted two new, known-good P700 optimizers for the bad one without success. The inverter is an SE9KUS. Each time I initiate re-pairing by holding down the green button on the underside of the inverter. The re-pairing event precedes as normal and all optimizers under that inverter's rule will re-pair--except for the one I substituted for the dead one.

Below is the the online layout image I get after 24 hours showing that optimizer 4.1.13 still isn't pairing with its inverted.
SE App.jpg
Does re-pairing a freshly-installed optimizer require more than simply pressing the inverter's green button? Alternatively, do I have a dead PV panel in the pair of panels this optimizer faces?

Do I need to have deeper log in credentials on the SolarEdge online monitoring app to authorize a new optimizer? Those deeper log in credentials are presently under the control of the installing company that annoys us.

FWIW, my clamp-on Fluke DC current meter says that the inverter string including optimizer 4.1.13 has substantial current. The LCD display on the SE9KUS says the that string voltage is 400VDC. The current clamp confirms that the current on the front side of optimizer 4.1.13 facing its two PV panels has zero current. This is consistent with an unauthorized optimizer or a dead PV panel.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

It took more than a month but I eventually resolved the question I posed above:

Does re-pairing a freshly-installed optimizer require more than simply pressing the inverter's green button?