diy solar

diy solar

What should I add to Will's minimalist system to make it really viable?

ArtieKendall

I'm about ready to pull the trigger on a beginner solar/battery/inverter/charger system. I've done minor electrical stuff around the house like replacing outlets and light switches, but otherwise I'm a complete newbie.

Will's recent video on a beginner system has made me think I could pull this off, but I'm a bit unsure that the setup should be as minimal as he says (he basically just has a battery and an EG4 3000 AIO on a hand truck). I understand and appreciate that he is showing the very minimum, and I'm sure it would work, but from reading as much as I could over the past couple of weeks, it seems like I also would want a fuse for the battery-to-inverter connection, a cutoff switch to the solar connection, etc. Maybe a breaker as well as a fuse for the battery connection, to use as an emergency shutoff?

I live in a very small town with no solar supply shops around, so it's not like I can easily run out and pick something up if I forget it. I would like to get everything in one purchase, so if I have a problem with something small like a circuit breaker, tech support knows they are talking to a customer who spent $8K with them, rather than 30 bucks. I'm already getting ready to spend a crap ton of money, because Signature Solar (who sells the AIO and batteries I want) has the $200 shipping deal if you spend over $5K, compared with $800 shipping for a single battery, so I'll get three or four batteries and a rack. They also have a minimum order of ten solar panels, which is way more than I wanted to start with, but again the shipping costs make up for it, and since I'm 70 years old, there's not much point in putting off the purchase of stuff that lasts 20+ years. Since I'm spending so much already, throwing in some fuses, breakers, or ferrules won't make much difference.