diy solar

diy solar

Where are the dangers in a solar system?

pr3nt

Disclaimer - complete newbie here!

I've watched a ton of Will's YouTube videos and I'm also just about done reading his book on solar, and while he does a great job reminding us the correct order to connect the various components so we don't damage any equipment, there isn't any information on how not to damage ourselves!

Please let me know, and if Will sees this, please consider a video showing us beginners which parts of a solar system we can and can't touch and where the dangers are for getting shocked or causing a fire or explosion, etc.

Thanks!

If you follow the beginner's guides in the Learning and Beginner's sections, pretty tough to get to catastrophic conditions. Use the sizing guidelines and tools.

Probably the biggest single thing you could do wrong is underestimate and under-size the wires.

With output from an inverter, treat it just as you would in your house; if you don't grab 120VAC plugs in your house, you don't do it here either.

Hi Rider, thanks for the response. I totally get how undersizing wires can cause issues, and I apologize for not being more clear initially, so I'll give an example. I saw this video on YouTube where this guy is touching both terminals of a car battery while the car is running. Looks crazy to me but I really have no idea what is safe to touch and what isn't. Other than damaging equipment, is there no way to "shock" yourself? Let's keep it simple for now and not consider how an inverter changes things.

Ok. A couple of things: 1st, 12VDC is pretty harmless. I test 9VDC batteries on my tongue to see how fresh they are.

2nd, "path of least resistance". Electrons will follow the path of least resistance. Since the wires are connected to the battery and there is some kind of circuit there, the electrons will follow the wires and not you. Basic electrical 101.