diy solar

diy solar

Wiring up backup camera, asking for advice for my beginner electronics question.

Vision.Urban.Reed

I have a major blockage in my solution finding here. I am 95% sure that everything else checks out here in my circuit, but I have reached todays limit on thinking through the circuit for a solution to my primary problem, as I am a major electrics beginner. My primary problem is as follows: I need to figure out a way to power the back up camera screen/receiver when the transmitter is being powered by the house battery, and the ignition is fully off. This question is asked in the attached photo below, in the notes section underneath the diagram. If you have an idea to help kickstart my next step, I would love to hear it and be grateful for it. I am always open to critique and suggestions etc. I will keep a few updates going below, in the hopes that maybe it helps some other beginner think through these things as I am. Thanks amigos.

2022-12-22 14.03.14.jpg
UPDATE 1:
I went on a walk with my dog and thought about it some more.
I think I could wire the positive lead of the 12v cigarette barrel jack (that powers the screen/receiver) to the same point on the DPST switch (center terminal) as the transmitter. Then, both devices (transmitter and receiver) would be powered by whichever power source is selected by the switch.
Both devices require only a couple hundred mA each. All of this would be properly fused near the batteries, of course.
Photo of alteration:
20221222_160924.jpg

Last edited:
wouldn't it be simpler to keep the reversing camera for use in the van and have a completely separate webcam/light on your house pointing to the drive and van?

wouldn't it be simpler to keep the reversing camera for use in the van and have a completely separate webcam/light on your house pointing to the drive and van?
Hey SeaGal!
It is my fault for not clarifying that: