diy solar

diy solar

BMS with Temp cutoff

Davehc130

OK I have been racking my brains and searching the internet for about 6 months trying to get this one issue resolved...I Cant find a BMS that will cut off charging while still allowing discharge..I can find Solar chargers that do this but here is what I am building...Basically a Battle Born to go in my 4Runner...I had hoped when Will pulled apart the Battle Born he would have ID'd the BMS they use....So I have a Redarc DC-DC charger and all the rest of the components, Balancer etc and even a few BMSs but I cant find a BMS that will cut out the DC-DC and Solar when the Cells get below freezing...basically the Solar panels go through the REDARC so just need a BMS that will stop taking a charge from the REDARC below freezing....I was out a few weeks ago and it was 1 degree...that would have killed my home build Cells if I had it hooked up and the REDARC tried to charge them when I turned the 4runner on...the REDARC even allows solar to power the charger when the alt is off so I have to make sure the BMS will not allow charging below freezing....IF anyone has a suggestion please pipe up...I am sure that there are others trying to figure this out as well...thanks

I have very little experience with BMSs and I may misunderstand the problem, but recently I fully read some BMS manuals. So what is your budget? What about a €159 TinyBMS in dual port mode? From the manual, p31 (Revision A, 2018-07-30):

Condition
If one or both external temperature sensor channels are connected and in use:
Ext. Temp #1 < Low Temperature Charger Cutoff threshold or
Ext. Temp #2 < Low Temperature Charger Cutoff threshold. [...]
Action
[...] Load Switch – turned on [...]
Charger Switch – turned off.