diy solar

diy solar

DC>DC charger AND isolator? Or instead of isolator?

strollingbones

Hi Gang! Newbie here and this is my first post. I have extensively RTFF and learned a lot. Thanks!

Quick Backstory
I have a Roadtrek Class B motorhome with a state of the art electrical system. State of the art for the year 2000, that is. :ROFLMAO: So my Covid-19 project is to upgrade it all.

Currently, the alternator charges both the starter and the house batteries. There is an isolator that prevents the house electrical from draining the starter battery.

Now I am considering upgrading my batteries to LiFePO4, and I understand this system might not cut it anymore. Some experts believe LiFeP04s can draw so much current when charging that they damage the alternator. They advise installing a DC>DC charger, like this one, to regulate current draw from the alternator to the batteries.

My Questions
#1) Do I correctly understand the situation and the role of the DC>DC charger?

#2) If I install a DC>DC charger, do I remove the 20 year old battery isolator? Or do I use them both somehow?

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Last edited:
The battery isolator in my ATV is rated for a car/truck. It is a one-way current once the main battery is charged (that's a weak description, but used for simplicity). Until the main is charged, the secondary battery doesn't see any charge current.

Should your starter battery die, the isolator should have a means to allow current to flow the opposite way, using your house batteries to charge the starter battery, letting you start the engine.

The DC-DC charger would go downstream of the isolator. However, the charger is only going to work one-way. If your starter battery died and you set the isolator to allow current to flow back to the starter battery, nothing would happen. This is because the charger doesn't charge both ways.