diy solar

diy solar

Gas Generators

I have 2X Blueetti 1500's and 2X Maxoak K5's. What would be the best gas Generators to charge my equipment?
By 1500 do you mean EB150? They only use 200 watts to charge with the adapter. So you're talking less than 600 watts for all four. The tiniest Harbor Freight 1400 watt generator would cover that. A 2500 watt Champion like I have could run on eco-mode and charge that little amount. I'd make sure it's an inverter generator though.

By 1500 do you mean EB150? They only use 200 watts to charge with the adapter. So you're talking less than 600 watts for all four. The tiniest Harbor Freight 1400 watt generator would cover that. A 2500 watt Champion like I have could run on eco-mode and charge that little amount.

I was thinking about getting a 2500 dual fuel inverter champion as well.
What are your thoughts about using propane as well as gas for charging the generators I need charging?
I've never used propane before but I read that you could use it in longer durations than gas but I heard it's tricky to store in an area like a garage.

What are your thoughts about using propane as well as gas for charging the generators I need charging?
I've never used propane before but I read that you could use it in longer durations than gas but I heard it's tricky to store in an area like a garage.

I got the champion dual fuel as a backup to run and charge small loads in case the sun doesn't shine. It will run longer on one gallon of gas than my old school 5000 watt will run on 5 gallons. Being able to use propane is a big plus for me. You can store propane for years without issue. Not to mention it is way more quiet than my large generator and only weighs about 50 lbs.

When comparing gas and propane generator efficiency, you may find some interesting data in this thread: https://diysolarforum.com/threads/how-efficient-is-your-generator.50418/