diy solar

diy solar

Multiple chargers?

Les May

• Multiple charge sources?
  • Description
  • Hi, first of all, I'm a complete newbie, so apologies if my question is stupid.

• In essence, my question is - can I connect several charge sources simultaneously to a battery.

• On the face of it, its a stupid question but in reality I have a cheap solar charger connected to my tractor battery so that I am never left with a flat battery, but when I start the engine the battery is getting a charge from both the alternator and the solar charger, hence two sources in parallel. With a rudimentary lead acid set up, this probably isn't a problem but when applying the same practice to my motorhome it starts to get expensive and fire is my worst fear.

• Now the real question.

• I am considering upgrading the entire power system in my American Motorhome. It has a solar charge system already but it uses Lead acid batteries and is quite basic. My plan is to base a new system around the Renology 12V 300Ah Deep Cycle Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery. SKU: RBT12300LFPSH-UK. Most likely 2 batteries but possibly 3.

• I plan to use the DCC50S 12V 50A DC-DC On-Board Battery Charger with MPPT(New Version) SKU: RBC50D1S-UK so that I can charge from the vehicle alternator when on the move. I would like to also incorporate the 3000W 12V Pure Sine Wave Inverter Charger w/ LCD SKU: R-INVT-PCL1-30123S-UK into the system as well. Which would provide AC when required and also a handy Lion compatible charge capability when connected to a shore supply.

• I have 2 queries.