diy solar

diy solar

Okay. Now I did it! 34 used solar panels/34 SolarEdge DC optimizers/inverter - Whoah!

BlueMarblePA

Solar Enthusiast
I am just a hobbyist and started on my solar journey with a small shed project with 4 x 280watt panels and 2 x 12vx100Ah batteries and Victron equipment. I started this just two months ago, and I am hooked.

Well, I wasn't looking for this big a purchase, but somebody was selling these for a good price (<15 cents a watt), so I ended up buying 34 used Trina monocrystalline solar panels (4 years old) as well as all the solaredge DC optimizers, the Solaredge inverter, and the strange roof rails (bottom rail only with ?clips? at the top.

Now what?!!!!

I have a roof on my main home that can support the panels, but I was taking my time to figure it all out, and all of a sudden I now have a huge pile of equipment.

The first question I have is whether Solaredge is good for DIY. My solar shed with 4 panels is off grid, Victron, no optimizers or microniverters, and it will stay that way, and I was having fun with it. However, this big of a system needs to be on my roof since I don't have the space for a ground mount (except maybe mobile). If I am going to install myself but then have an electrician ultimately grid-tie, should I continue to use Solaredge. My local companies which use Solaredge refuse to install used equipment. In addition, I had originally hoped my home grid-tie system would be a Solark 15k.

Thank you in advance, because honestly I am overwhelmed.

Attachments

• 20221113_154255.jpg
    20221113_154255.jpg
    487.5 KB · Views: 77
Congratulations! Hope to see more posts and photos as you build out your system.

Physical installation is probably a lot like microinverters, that is the wiring and mounting is straight-forward. It's the activation that might cause issues.