diy solar

diy solar

Panels mounted past ridge of roof

Dominic

So I’m getting ready to install panels onto my sheds asphalt shingles and as I’m up there doing my calculations I’ve noticed my neighbours bambo and ADU shade more then I originally thought.

It’s only allowing 40% full sun facing south.

So that leaves me with the option of running 4 in landscape or 6 in portrait if I somehow angle the panels so that they protrude past the ridge of the roof.

I can seem to find much info about this online so maybe it’s not a good idea.. benefit of the latter is getting a better angle.

How much would the protrude? Keep in mind the extra windforce if it can easiliy catch up under the panels! I am not a static expert, but generally speaking this is not recommended. Depending on your local situation (windy area, much snow?) i would rather except less solar than risking a damage.

Haha I am thinking about it actually! So none of my work should be permanent.

I’m in Seattle, so not much snow. It does get windy though. You are right.

I’ll guess I’ll just stick to the getting it as close as possible

If you are concerned about shading now, remember that we are just past the equinox. The sun is lower in the sky and up for much less time from November to March

suncalc.org has a great simulator to see what you might expect. You can calculate the shadowing of an object based on height.

Bamboo is a neat plant but is also a burden at times. You may be able to come to some understanding with the neighbor in regard to trimming the tops of the bamboo.
Bamboo will stop growing up after topped so if you could offer to cut the tops off for them if they are agreeable. Most people I know want the bamboo around for privacy, but probably do not care how tall it is, if it blocks the wind and gives privacy that is what is important.

If you live in a place where neighbors can tattle to the government or hoa about your panels then disregard my advice about talking to the neighbor.